• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8

Scottish Rowing Awards Shortlist

Updated: January 9, 2018

Scottish Rowing is delighted to announce the shortlist for the Scottish Rowing Awards 2017. The shortlisting panel had a tough job narrowing down the nominations this year with so many strong candidates across all the awards.

We invite you to join us at the Scottish Rowing Dinner at the sportscotland National Sports Training Centre in Largs on the 20th January for an evening celebrating the many successes in our sport in 2016-17. Pride of Britian Award winner Fraser Johnston will be our guest speaker for the evening and we will be joined by a special guest, Dame Katherine Grainger, multiple Olympic medal winner and now Chair UK Sport who will join our other guests in a light hearted panel discussion during the evening.  

The dinner and awards will be followed by a ceilidh, with the dancing led by local band, Clamjamfrie. Bookings for this event close on Thursday 11th January - Booking details below.

The Shortlist

International Rower of the Year
Maddie Arlett (Edinburgh University BC)
Karen Bennett (Leander Club)
Gavin Horsburgh (Edinburgh University BC)

Senior Rower of the Year
Josh Armstrong (Edinburgh University BC)
Fiona Bell (Aberdeen University BC)
Jack Burns (Clydesdale ARC)

Junior Rower of the Year
Miles Beeson (Aberdeen Schools RA)
Dale Flockhart (St Andrew BC)
Jane Hardie (George Heriots School RC)
Rosie Payne (Strathclyde Park RC)
Robert Powell (Aberdeen Schools RC)

Masters Rower of the Year
Gillian Connal (Strathclyde Park RC)
Ailie Ord (Strathclyde Park RC)
Clare Rainbow (Castle Semple RC)

Crew of the Year
Aberdeen Schools RA WJ16 2-
Edinburgh University BC HRR Prince of Wales M4x
Edinburgh University BC HRR Remenham Cup W8+
St Andrew BC HRR Britannia Challenge Cup M4+
St Andrew BC WeHORR Novice W8+

Coach of the Year
Miki Lee Dale (Clydesdale ARC)
John Higson (Edinburgh University BC)
Colin Williamson (Edinburgh University BC)
Lesley Afuakwah (Castle Semple RC)

Volunteer of the Year
Matt Taylor (University of St Andrews BC)
Erin Wyness (RGU BC)
Lindsay Flockhart (St Andrew BC)
Stella Hawthorne (Clydesdale ARC)

Club of the Year
Clydesdale Amateur Rowing Club
Loch Lomond Rowing Club
University of St Andrew Boat Club

Congratulations to all those shortlisted.

To Book
Tickets are £45 per person.  Accommodation is available to book at £35 per person for shared occupancy and £50 per person with single occupancy. If you wish to attend please use the booking form below.

The dinner is part of the Scottish Rowing “Changing the Future” event which will be running on the 20th and 21st January. More information about this event can be found HERE.